Life’s Precious Pearls

Pearls are a bit of an intuitive theme right now; the pirate girl, dreaming of treasure. Pearls of wisdom, pearls of wealth, the grain within pearls; seeds of ideas that grow and shine as you sit with them and let them agitate within you until they become unique and beautiful.

My current challenge from a mythical collaborator is to share my pearls as they come, short, sweet, uncensored.

What jumped out today is how often the gems of life come from its simplicity; from little, living moments in time. We never know what of our own experience will inspire but usually I find it is the simple stuff that shines most brightly, lighting up your own day, or illuminating another person’s thinking. These little thoughts, based on real living, nestle within, gleaming and bright, showing us how amazing life is simply because its deepest lessons can come in any moment, any interaction, any view, any minute of reflection or experience.

The other day I took some time to sit outside a pub, enjoying a naughty pre-sun-over-yard-arm pint, mulling over my new business plans and absorbing Brighton revelling in the delayed spring. Nothing was significantly different, the worries I have been experiencing remained in the background, but nothing could diminish the lustrous gift of being where and who I was, of the choice of being that I had made. All the joy of life seemed to condense into that half hour, a gift and an inspiration that has stayed with me all week. Very quickly, rather than stick with business thinking, I found myself writing a quick letter to my Dad to let him know I’ve been thinking of him. Another simple and precious pearl.

Such moments can easily get hidden in the messy straw of busy lives, in the scurry and scratchiness of making ends meet, of our obligations and duties, our worries and concerns. But it’s simple if we let it be. When we indulge in small moments of pleasure, when we fully live in the enjoyment of every day things, we are sharing in the treasure of life and nourishing the seeds of new pearls within us.

One thought on “Life’s Precious Pearls

Leave a Reply

